Your browser is outdated

The internet explorer is no longer supported. Please switch browsers for better website experience.

ISO 50001 Certification

Efficient energy management thanks to ISO 50001 certification

Successful companies rely on solid management strategies and systems to regularly evaluate and sustainably increase their energy efficiency.

An energy management system (EnMS) certified according to the internationally recognized ISO 50001 standard helps companies of all sizes to meet the efficiency goals unique to their business.

The benefits you get from the ISO 50001 certification

  • Competitive advantages through higher efficiency and lower energy costs

  • Higher economic efficiency due to lower energy consumption

  • Detailed breakdown of energy consumption in the compan

  • Identification of potential savings in the energy sector

  • Reduction of CO2 emissions

  • Conformity with energy policy

  • Systematic improvement of processes

  • Stronger awareness of energy efficiency among employees and management

ISO 50001 Certification

About ISO 50001 certification

Released in June 2011, the new ISO 50001:2018 has a High-Level Structure (HLS) and is based on the quality standard ISO 9001 and the environmental standard ISO 14001. This enables organizations to convert their existing energy and environmental management systems into a systematic energy management system:

  • Development of a company policy for the more efficient use of energy
  • Determination of characteristic values
  • Data analysis of energy consumption in all major consumption areas
  • Measurement of results
  • Continuous monitoring of measures

Procedure for ISO 50001 certification

  1. Information and preliminary audit (optional)
    Information meeting (by telephone or in person), project meeting on site and preparation for certification, incl. document check
  2. Certification on site
    Readiness analysis with assessment and review of the description of the management system, review of documented processes, and optional post-audit (review of corrective actions)
  3. Audit report and evaluation
    Documentation of the audit and assessment of the management system
  4. Certificate and seal
    After successfully completing the certification process, you will receive your certificate and the DEKRA test seal (with a maximum term of three years)
  5. First surveillance audit
    A surveillance audit of the practical implementation is conducted every 12 months
  6. Second surveillance audit
    Repeated auditing of the practical implementation of the management system
  7. Recertification
    Three years after initial certification, steps 2 to 6 are repeated in the recertification audit

ISO 50001: Your advantages at a glance

Gain from our expertise

  • Our experts have many years of experience in auditing across all industries.
  • We can offer you all the services you need for your certifications from a single source.
  • As our portfolio comprises more than 40 accreditations, we can also certify other management systems, such as ISO 9001 or ISO 14001 and their combinations, with little effort if required.
  • With our recognized DEKRA test seal you can secure the trust of your customers and business partners and increase your competitive chances.

FAQ - Frequently asked questions about the revision of ISO 50001

Regular revisions of the ISO standards are necessary in order to keep up with new technical and media requirements as well as those of an integrated management system.

The changeover to ISO 50003 mainly affected certification companies (such as DEKRA Certification GmbH). It serves as the basis for accreditation and provides a standard for calculating audit duration. Requiring you to disclose the number of people working with your EnMS and prove the improvement of your energy-related performance, you are indirectly affected by ISO 50003 as a customer. The new revision of ISO 50001 affects you directly.

If you have already implemented the requirements of ISO 50003, you will find it easier to implement the requirements of the new ISO 50001 revision.

The main modifications are:

  • Adoption of the "High Level Structure" (HLS): Uniform terms, definitions and numbering of the standard chapters to facilitate high compatibility with other standards.
  • Greater consideration of stakeholders: Determination of the requirements of interested parties.
  • Risk-based approach: Dealing with risks and opportunities related to the energy management system.
  • Continuous improvement: Recurring proof of energy performance improvement.
  • Emphasis on increased management responsibility: Stronger commitment to ensure energy-related performance and effectiveness of the EnMS.
  • Normalization of energy performance indicators (EnPI) and the associated energy output bases (EnB): Determine suitable EnPIs that can withstand methodological testing (thus closing the loop to ISO 50006 and ISO 50015).

Just like the ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and ISO 45001 standards, the revision of ISO 50001 follows the High Level Structure (HLS) and can therefore be converted with relatively little effort if you have already implemented one of these standards.

How great the effort is depends on several factors such as:

  • Do you already meet the requirements of ISO 50003?
  • Do you have an integrated management system according to ISO 9001 and/or ISO 14001:2015 standards?

A gap analysis helps you to estimate the effort you will need to invest.

We recommend that you create an internal action plan containing all necessary steps and dates, from training for the new revision to final conversion.

First audits will be possible after our accreditation in the second quarter of 2019.

  • August 21, 2018: Publication of the new revision ISO 50001:2018.
  • February 21, 2020: Certification/registration bodies may no longer carry out ISO 50001:2011 audits 18 months after the date of publication of the revised standard. Important note: In contrast to the conversion to ISO 9001:2015 or ISO 14001:2015, for example, this period does not end half a year, but rather one and a half years before the end of the transition period. For you, this means that planning for the changeover must be carried out quickly.
  • August 21, 2021: All ISO 50001:2011 certifications expire or are withdrawn.

Because the system must be further developed to meet the changed requirements, respective representatives and internal system auditors must be trained to the new status.

By and large, the duration of the audit will remain similar to the current length. As in the revisions of ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, an additional evaluation of your documentation (structure, processes and proof of compliance with the standard requirements) will be necessary for the changeover.

Certificates according to ISO 50001:2011 will only be valid until August 21, 2021. If you have successfully completed the conversion, you will receive an updated certificate for ISO 50001:2018 with the initial expiration date.

Yes, we would be happy to make you an offer. Talk with us!

The DEKRA Academy offers training courses on this subject.


Share page