DEKRA in China becomes a SASO approved Certification Body for Saudi Arabia

Aug 24, 2021 Digital & Product Solutions

Extension of global product certification services in APAC

DEKRA in China is now an approved Certification Body by SASO, the Saudi Standards, Metrology and Quality Organization, that importers accessing the Saudi Arabian market can choose when requesting certification of their products through SABER e-platform. Until now, SASO certification has only been performed by DEKRA’s Certification Body in Europe.
"The SASO accreditation is an important part of our global market access services portfolio. We are pleased to further expand our global market access network and capabilities in APAC to provide comprehensive services to our customers “, said César Valencia, Business Line Product Certification Director of the Service Division Product Testing at DEKRA. “We continue helping our customers to access the Saudi Arabian market and now we are also able to provide this service locally from our office and laboratory in Shanghai”.
“With the SASO accreditation DEKRA can provide local certification services to manufacturers located in Asia and Australia who want to export their products to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Furthermore, China is the most important exporter for the Middle East, so local certification will enable efficient services for our customers”, said Pinky Li, Global Market Access Manager at DEKRA in China. With this extension of the certification services, DEKRA can also support European and other international manufacturers with factories in Asia.
In China, DEKRA’s certification scope for Saudi Arabia includes low voltage electrical products, such as cooling and kitchen appliances, electrical components, and luminaries.
In addition to these services, DEKRA provides Energy Efficiency Registration (EER), Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) and IECEE scheme services for the Saudi Arabian market, among others. DEKRA also supports customers with testing and certification services for further Middle East countries such as UAE, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain and Oman.